What's a parallel circuit?

There are two basic electrical circuits, series and parallel. In a parallel circuit two or more devices are hooked up across the power supply at the same time. In a series circuit the devices are connected in a daisy-chain to the power. Most lights in your house are connected in a parallel circuit.