What's the difference between a basset hound and a beagle?

Beagles have more slender, narrow bodies and proportionately sized legs. Basset hounds have longer ears and shorter legs, often with jowls that hang down below their jawlines.

---

The Beagle is a slightly taller dog than the Basset Hound although the Basset Hound is heavier. In addition, Beagles always look happy while Basset Hounds seem to have a soft sad look on their faces. Beagles are usually tri-color while Basset Hounds can just be two colors.