What is cacaphonies?

cacophonies is the plural of Cacophony. A Cacophony is a set of harsh, discordant sounds. Imagine 3 small children banging on cymbals, a cowbell and a xylophone and you understand a Cacophony. The word is sometimes used as an insult e.g. The debate descended into a Cacophony of shouted answers.