Is seaweed a plant or an animal?

Seaweeds are marine plants also known as algae. They are found in a marine environment and have specialized parts that allow for photosynthesis. Plant parts are stems, roots, and leaves. Corresponding seaweed parts are stipe, holdfast, and blade or frond