Is did a helping verb?

Yes, did is a helping verb. Helping verbs (also known as auxiliary verbs) help the main verb of a sentence by adding grammatical information to it, like tense, voice, or possibility. The most common auxiliary verbs are be, do, and have (and their conjugated forms).