What is john philip sousa known for?

John Philip Sousa (Nov. 6, 1854 to Mar. 6, 1932) was an American composer and band conductor best known for marches including "The Stars and Stripes Forever, "Semper Fidelis," "The Liberty Bell," "The Thunderer," and "The Gladiator." Serving in the Marines and Navy, he led the Marine Corp band.