Why is washington d. c. called district of columbia?

In September 1791, the city was named in honor of Washington and dubbed the district in which it was located the Territory of Columbia. The name Columbia, derived from explorer Christopher Columbus, In 1871, the Territory of Columbia officially was renamed District of Columbia.