What were the americans called during revultionary war?

Patriots. A term referring to colonists who fought against the British Crown. The colonists living in the British North American colonies who rebelled against the authority of the crown were known as patriots, revolutionaries, continentals, colonials, rebels, Yankees, or Whigs.