How do you get marker out of a carpet?

Permanent marker stains on carpet can be removed with either a non-oil based hairspray or rubbing alcohol. Apply to the stained carpet and blot with a clean cloth. Once the stain has been removed, apply water to the area to remove any remains of the stain remover.