What's the difference in a nectarine and a peach?

Nectarines are a type of peach without the fuzzy skin. They're nutritionally similar, boasting comparable amounts of natural sugars, fiber, and micronutrients. While peaches are more appropriate for baking and softer-textured recipes, nectarines stay firm for cooking.