How do you tell if a turkey is done?

According to most sources that I can find, a turkey is ready to eat when its internal temperature is 165 deg F, or 73 deg C. (A couple of sources recommend 180 deg F, or 83 deg C.) Use a meat thermometer by inserting it into the turkey near, but not quite against, the thigh bone.