Who is the senpai?

Senpai is the Senior. In Japan, the relationship between senpai (or senior) and kohai (junior) is an informal hierarchical relationship found in organizations, associations, clubs, businesses, and schools. The concept has its roots in Confucian teaching, and has become a part of Japanese culture.