What happens when you set up guard?

Once you set up Guard, just say “I'm leaving” to switch to Away mode. The light ring on non-screen Echo devices will animate with a rotating white light and screen devices will show a shield icon on the home screen to indicate when Guard is in Away mode. Say “I'm home” to switch Guard to Home mode.