Is there a difference between a liquid measuring cup and a solid measuring cup?

Liquid measuring cups are usually glass or plastic with a handle. They allow you to pour a liquid into the cup and bring it even with a measurement line without spilling. Dry measuring cups, on the other hand, hold the exact amount of an ingredient and should be leveled off with a flat edge.