What was the first superhero ever invented?

While Superman (1939) is credited as the first modern superhero, characters such as 'The Shadow', 'Lone Ranger', and 'Doc Savage' predate that. The first recorded heroic character ever was the Sumerian king Gilgamesh, whose poem 'Epic of Gilgamesh' is thought to have originated around 2100 BC.