What was the first penny made?

Mint produced its first circulating coins, the copper cents were minted in late February 1793,with over 11,000 copper cents delivered March 1, 1793. The first pennies struck at the U.S. Mint were made of pure copper and were much larger than the modern one-cent coins we are accustomed to using today