What's a bomb cyclone?

A bomb cyclone is a type of storm that typically develops in the wintertime, over the ocean or off a coast.

---

Bomb cyclone is a term given to a rapidly strengthening storm that has a pressure drop of 24 millibars (a unit of pressure) within 24 hours. The term was coined by MIT meteorologists Fred Sanders and John Gyakum to describe the explosive power that these storms derive from rapid pressure drops