What is an r. controlled vowel?

An 'R Controlled' vowel is one immediately followed by the letter 'r' and which can no longer be pronounced as a long or short vowel. Examples: *ar: car, farm, art, fork, sort, north, large, carve, share, care, fair, chair, clerk, letter, hear, dear, cheer, deer