When was medecin invented?

The history of medicine can be traced back as far as Neolithic man, but our understanding of medicine began with the Sumerians. Our knowledge of anatomy began with the Greeks, but truly took hold during the Middle Ages. Modern medicine can be traced back to discoveries made in the 17th century.