How long should coffee percolate?

With each perk, you'll notice the coffee in the dome darkening. Brewing should take about 5 minutes for a stove top percolator and about 7-10 minutes for an electrical percolator. (Important) Remove the filter basket with the used grounds before pouring the coffee.