How do you keep a roast from shrinking?

A roast will shrink in the oven because in a gas or electric stove’s oven some of the moisture in the meat evaporates in the dry heat. To prevent loss of moisture, cook the roast in a covered pot and add some extra liquid such as broth or wine.