Where does the tomato worm come from?

The tomato worm, aka the tomato hornworm, L. Manduca quinquemaculata, is the caterpillar stage in the life cycle of the adult Sphinx Moth. Hated by gardeners because it’s large, ravenous, green, very squishy, it has a horn at its tailend. The large adult moth is often mistaken for a hummingbird.