What is the difference between a lake and a river?

A lake is a land locked body of water with multiple tributaries and estuaries. A lake will have waves similar to oceans, but not in as large a scale. A river is a body of water with one directional flow. Rivers are typically formed by many smaller streams or rivers joining at various points.