What's a blackthorn fruit?

Prunus spinosa, called blackthorn or sloe, is a species of flowering plant in the rose family Rosaceae. ... The fruits have been used to make sloe gin in Britain, and the wood used for making walking sticks or the shillelagh by the Irish.