Why does patrick star live under a rock?

Starfish typically like to hide under sand or rocks. In the "Truth or Square TV Guide," a comic reveals that Patrick's house was once his small pet rock who grew up to be a large rock. Patrick is not good at making a house, so this is why his house is just a rock.