What does non alpha numeric mean?

"Non-alphanumeric" means neither of the alphabet, nor of the digits zero through nine. It is a category used to refer symbols like the octothorp or currency designate, punctuation marks like the comma and interrobang, and emoticons like the smiley face and the eggplant.