How much is a chunk in minecraft?

A chunk in Minecraft is a procedurally generated 16 x 16 segment of the world that extends all the way down to the bedrock up to a height of 256 blocks. In other words, a chunk is simply a small portion of your game world that consists of a maximum of 65,536 blocks.