What's the lame duck period?

The lame duck period is the time when an outgoing elected official is still in office, and the newly elected official is waiting to take take the position.

---

Lame duck refers to the period between an election and when the winner takes office. For instance, a president loses re-election in November, and the new president takes office in January. That president is still in office in between, but might not be able to get a lot done.