Why did dean martin and jerry lewis split up?

When Dean and Jerry did split in '56, the commonly given reason was their respective work ethics. Jerry was a self-acknowledged workaholic. He was a whirling dervish of energy (and raw talent) and he wanted to churn out more and more films, TV shows, and live appearances.