What is a fortified beverage?

A fortified beverage is one in which vitamins or minerals have been added. That's different from a beverage that is naturally rich in a vitamin or mineral. Milk, for instance, is naturally rich in calcium, and is usually fortified with vitamin D (that is, vitamin D is added to the milk).