Who did b. b. and t. merge with?

Truist Financial Corp. is an American bank holding company headquartered in Charlotte, North Carolina. The company was formerly known as BB&T (Branch Banking and Trust Company); it changed its name in December 2019 upon the acquisition of SunTrust Banks.