Who is daniel deronda?

Daniel Deronda is the hero of an 1876 novel by George Eliot about Mirah Cohen, a poor Jewish girl, the upper-class Gwendolen Harleth, and Daniel Deronda, an orphan who discovers that he has Jewish roots. It is notable for its exposure of Victorian anti-Semitism and for helping to promote Zionism.