What does a potion of luck do in minecraft?

Luck is a status effect which increases the probability of finding high-quality loot from fishing or naturally-generated chests. The higher the level of potion imbibed by a player, the higher the chance they will find high-quality loot. Like all status effects, it can be removed by drinking milk.