Why do onions sprout?

The main reason behind onion and garlic sprouting is moisture. In fact, onion and garlic are meant to grow into new plants, so sprouting is a natural occurrence for them. They lay undeveloped until conditions are right for sprouting, and once they are, new growth begins.