Where do aloe vera plants grow?

After all, Aloe vera is far from the only species of aloe plant. Over 500 species of aloes exist, spread over Africa, the Middle East and various Indian Ocean islands. All aloes show some degree of leaf succulence, the key characteristic behind the medicinal use of Aloe vera.