What's the difference between boston cream and bavarian cream?

Bavarian cream while can be used as a filling, is a dessert in itself. Boston cream is essentially a cream filling used in pies, pastries, donuts, etc. Bavarian cream uses gelatin as the setting agent. Boston cream uses cornstarch.