When was the gulf war?

Gulf War 1 codenamed Operation Desert Shield, to free Kuwait from Iraq forces, lasted August 2, 1990 through February 28, 1991. The Iraq War began in 2003 to overthrow the government of Saddam Hussein. In 2009, official US troops were withdrawn, but American soldiers remain on the ground.