What is this song hotel california about?

Hotel California is about greed in the U.S. and in the music scene in the 1970s. Don Henley, who wrote the lyrics, stated in 1995 that the song, “sort of captured the zeitgeist of the time, which was a time of great excess in this country & in the music business in particular.”