What is out cropping?

Noun; a coming out of bedrock or of an unconsolidated deposit to the surface of the ground. the part of a rock formation that appears at the surface of the ground Verb; to project from the surrounding soil. to come to the surface : APPEAR. Via: Merriam-Webster Dictionary