How do you start a compost bin?

Build a base layer of straw or twigs to start composting. Add layers of materials to be composted one at a time, alternating between brown and green materials. Incorporate a nitrogen source like fertilizer to start decomposition. Keep your compost moist & turn every 2 weeks.