What's the difference between a diner and a cafe?

A diner is a small, inexpensive restaurant found all over the United States, as well as in Canada and parts of Western Europe. Etymologically speaking, cafes serve drinks (originally, coffee). Diners are where you eat (dine). Diners will serve you breakfast/dinner any time of day, unlike cafes.