What year was the first academy award presented?

The first academy award was presented in May, 1929. The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences had a dinner party in the Blossom Room of the Roosevelt Hotel in Hollywood. Emil Jannings won Best Actor and Janet Gaynor was best actress.