What is an orla?

The name Orla is girl's name of Irish origin meaning golden princess. Orla is an Irish name closely associated with the high king Brian Boru, as it was the name of his sister, daughter and niece. It was popular in the Middle Ages and has become popular again in Ireland, Scotland, England and Wales.