Is a verb an action?

An action verb is a verb that expresses physical or mental action. The action verb tells us what the subject of our clause or sentence is doing-physically or mentally. For example, in the sentence; The chicken strutted across the road, Strutted is the action verb.

---

Many verbs, such as run, throw, elect, swing, make, and do are actions. Other verbs specify state of being, such as is, are, and seems.