Why are they called bobby pins?

The bobby pin was invented by Luis Marcus, a San Francisco–based cosmetics manufacturer, after World War I and came into wide use as the hairstyle known as "bob cut" or "bobbed hair" took hold.Although Marcus thought about naming the pin after himself, he named them bobby after the bobbed hairstyle.