What year was coffee invented?

Coffee was invented in 1671

---

Legend has it that a goat herder in Ethiopia discovered the energizing effects of the coffee bean during the 9th century when some of his herd grazed on the cherry of the coffee plant. However, the first evidence of coffee drinking is from the early 15th century, in the Sufi monasteries of Yemen.