Who sings the ballad of the green beret?

Green beret Sargent Barry Sadler wrote and sang The Ballad of the Green berets in 1965. It was released in January 1966, and rose to number one on the Billboard chart for five consecutive weeks in the spring of that year selling more than nine million copies.