What flavor is tamarind?

The flavor of the tamarind fruit ranges from sweet and sour to tangy and tart. The flavor depends on how ripe the fruit is. The more it ripens, the sweeter it gets. Similar to tart citrus fruit, the flavor will also depend on what the fruit is mixed with.