Is titanium stronger than stainless steel?

Pure titanium is harder than stainless steel by density but more brittle. Stainless steel is an alloy which has different properties depending on the composition of its base metals. Generally, titanium in its pure form is used for scientific purposes. Stainless steel has a much broader application.