What do pinto beans taste like?

Pinto beans cook up softer than Kidney beans, which makes them perfect for refried beans as they mash well. They have an 'earthy' taste that is more pronounced than white navy beans, and not quite as strong as kidney beans. The skins are also softer in texture than kidney beads, with a mild taste.